Rabbinic Tzitzits?

Rabbinic Tzitzits?

Num 15:38 Speak unto the children of Israel, and bid them that they make them fringesH6734 in the borders of their garments throughout their generations, and that they put upon the fringeH6734 of the borders a ribband of blue: (Dt.22:12)

H6734
ציצת
tsi^ytsith
tsee-tseeth’
Feminine of H6731; a floral or wing like projection, that is, a fore lock of hair, a tassel: – fringe, lo
ck.

This is the Torah Command – So how are the Rabbis involved? The following is not the Torah Command;

First off this is a confused proposition – many of the Orthodox, Conservative and Reform Judaism do not wear tzitzit with a blue cord – They classically excuse this by claiming to not know the type, shade, hew, lightness or darkness the blue should be or that it has been lost all together. So instead of obeying the command without knowing exactly how to keep it – they break it – while keeping it (sort of). Some claim the ‘blue’ has to come from the Murex trunculus, a sea snail (also known as the Hexaplex trunculus) – which itself is unclean and only surfaces once every 70 years.

Where is that in the Torah instruction?

Dt 22:12 Thou shalt make thee fringesH1434 upon the four quarters of thy vesture, wherewith thou coverest thyself.

H1434
גּדל
gedil
ghed-eel’
From H1431 (in the sense of twisting); thread, that is, a tassel or festoon: – fringe, wreath.

Then there is the knots and wraps not found in Torah (either in Num.15:38 or Dt.22:12)

From the Shulchan Aruch “Set Table” Code of Jewish Law (Cited in the Talmud and other writings), is the most authoritative legal code of Judaism (Not Torah) – There are a total of five knots, the four intervening spaces being taken up by windings numbering 7-8-11-13, respectively. The total number of winds comes to 39, which is the same number of winds if you were to tie according to the Talmud instruction of 13 hulyot of 3 winds each. Furthermore, the number 39 is significant in that it is the gematria (numerical equivalent) of the words: “YHWH is One” Dt.6:4 – one = ‘echad’ – a plural unity). Others, especially Sephardi Jews, use 10-5-6-5 as the number of windings, a combination that represents the spelling of the Tetragrammaton (God’s name).

The basis for the number of knots is the gematria: the word tzitzit (Mishnaic spelling) has the value 600. Each tassel has eight threads (when doubled over) and five sets of knots, totaling 13. The sum of all numbers is 613, the supposed Rabbinic number of laws in Torah.

All of the foregoing is not Torah!

Karaites wear tzitzyot with blue threads. In contrast to Rabbinic Judaism, they believe that the tekhelet (blue), does not refer to a specific dye. The traditions of Rabbinic Judaism in the knotting of the tzitzit are not followed, so the appearance of Karaite tzitzit can be very different from that of Rabbanite tzitzit.

If the Karaite braiding has specific significance (which I was not able to find); it would also be not Torah.

Dt 4:2 Ye shall not add unto the word which I command you, neither shall ye diminish ought from it, that ye may keep the commandments of YHWH your Elohim which I command you. (Dt 12:32)

This is all under the Levitical Priesthood – ‘for under it the people received the law’ (Heb.7:11)

Did Yahshua wear tzitzits? – I believe that He did; for He was born as one under the law (Gal.4:4). The same law that made Him ineligible to ever be a Levitical Priest (Heb.7:13-14).

Yah’s Esteem

7 thoughts on “Rabbinic Tzitzits?

  1. Just an idea to consider. He wore them to be all the fullfilment of his entire
    Instructions. Otherwise he would not be the perfect sacrifice. But as the melic zodiac
    AFTER the resurrection when he could then walk through walls as an example,
    Portraying an Adamic condition , it would be my estimate that the fringes were set
    Aside thus restoring the book of the covenant.

  2. I’m thinking, we may not have to wear these tassels under the Melchisedeck Priesthood, but I don’t see a problem if you choose to wear them either. It seems to be for our benefit as a reminder etc. and I don’t find it to be a bad idea. In fact, the idea was Yah’s, which means it’s not a bad idea. What do you’all think?

      • ah, yes that is a very good reference verse.
        However, just for debate sake let me follow up with; we’re not talking about atonement for sin here, like whether or not to sacrifice a lamb. Now that would be an ‘either or’ problem.
        I don’t believe someone wearing a tassel will keep the Ruach from reminding or teaching His children. I hesitate to condemn someone or be mad over the added visual reminder.
        Though personally I think the tassels make for nice book markers instead.
        Yes, if possible, we can be theologically perfect, but if we forget love we have gained nothing.
        Blessings-
        ps. I am in SoCal and I wanted to ask; May I attend your congregation Dr Perry? It would be an honor to meet you.

    • I’m in Irvine, Newport Beach area.
      Yes, I know John Flores, and ‘Remnant of Truth’, I am joining them for Shavuot & Shabbat service tomorrow.
      I’ve also been to Salem OR, with Matthew, but I hope that more congregations will form soon.
      although seeing the signs and the times, I would hope we could all come together at some point. Matthew talks about preparations for his family, but who is my family? There are many brothers and sisters that will need assistance. I for one am willing to help my brothers and sisters in whatever manner I can. Yet I have no permanent place to call home myself, so I guess we’ll just wait on Father to direct us.
      Let me know if I can do anything for you in your ministry to advance the kingdom, to the glory to YHVH.

  3. Was planning to be there but already committed to a HR group in my area when I found out they were doing the same time – Say hi to the group for me – Shavuot Shalom

Leave a Reply

